University of Wisconsin-Madison Skip navigationUW-Madison Home PageMy UW-MadisonSearch UW
 

 

UW Home page

ADA Campus Policies

ACCESS AND ACCOMMODATION RESOURCE COORDINATORS

What is an AARC?

UW‑Madison’s Faculty Senate, in Document 1071, affirmed that accommodation of qualified students with disabilities in instructional programs is a shared faculty and student responsibility. To this end, each department has appointed an Access and Accommodation Resource Coordinator to help faculty, staff and students address issues of access and accommodation in the instructional setting. The following is a list of AARCs by department and unit:


School/College

Department

Name

Title

Address

Telephone

Fax

Email

Office of Admissions

Enrollment Management

Emilie Dickson

Assistant Director

702 W. Johnson Street, Room 1101

262-0894

edickson@admissions.wisc.edu

Business

Human Resources/ Employment Relations

Jason Jankoski

Assistant Dean for Human Resources

5110e Grainger Hall

262-1554
265-5075

263-1797

jjankoski@bus.wisc.edu

CALS

Agricultural and Applied Economics

Barbara Forrest

Student Services Coordinator

423 Taylor Hall

262-9489

262-4376

bforrest@wisc.edu

CALS

Agronomy

Sandy Bennett

Academic Dept. Manager

369 Moore Hall

262-9928

262-5217

skbennett@wisc.edu

CALS

Animal Sciences

Shelia Pink

Department Administrator

1675 Observatory Dr. Rm. 256B

263-4514/ 263-4300

262-5157

sfpink@ansci.wisc.edu

CALS

Bacteriology

Staci Francis

Department Administrator

120 Biochemistry

890-1158

262-9865

sfrancis@wisc.edu

CALS

Biochemistry

Mike Cox

Professor

341b Biochemistry

262-1181

262-3453

cox@biochem.wisc.edu

CALS

Biological Systems Engineering

Patrick Litza

Dept. Administrator

115D Agricultural Engineering Bldg

262-2250

262-1228

litza@wisc.edu

CALS

Dairy Science

Ted Halbach

Extension YouthSpecialist/Dairy Cattle evaluation Instructor

261 Animal Science Building

263-3305/ 263-3308

263-9412

tjhalbach@wisc.edu

CALS

Entomology

Sheila Timme

Academic Dept. Manager

226 Russell Labs

263-4520/
262-2671

263-2626

smtimme@facstaff.wisc.edu

CALS

Farm & Industry Short Course (FISC)


CALS

Food Science

Scott Rankin

Dept. Chair, Associate Professor

105a Babcock Hall

263-2008

 

sarankin@wisc.edu

CALS

Forest Ecology and Management

Sheila Timme

Dept. Administrator

120 Russell Labs

262-9975

262-9922

smtimme@wisc.edu

CALS

Genetics


Jean Petersen

Student Services Coordinator

1426 Genetics/Biotech

265-9285

262-2976


jmpeter2@wisc.edu

CALS

Horticulture

CALS

Institute for Cross-College Biology Education

CALS

Landscape Architecture

Evelyn Howell

Dept. Chair, Professor

24E Agricultural Hall

263-6964

eahowell@wisc.edu

CALS

Life Sciences & Comm.

Albert Gunther

Professor

1545 Observatory Drive

262-1506

265-3042

agunther@wisc.edu

CALS

Nutritional Sciences

Betsy Kelley

Assoc. Outreach Specialist

284 Nutritional Sciences Bldg

265-8785/
262-2727

262-5860

kelley@nutrisci.wisc.edu

CALS

Plant Pathology

Sheila Timme

Academic Dept. Manager

226 Russell Labs

263-4520/
262-2671

263-2626

smtimme@facstaff.wisc.edu

CALS

Rural Sociology

Kari Straus

Dept. Administrator

350 Agricultural Hall

262-9533

262-6022

kastraus@wisc.edu

CALS

Soil Science

William Bland

Professor

263A Soil Science

263-5691

265-2595

wlbland@wisc.edu

CALS

Wildlife Ecology

William Karasov

Professor

221 Russell Labs

263-9319

262-6099

wkarasov@wisc.edu

Division of Continuing Studies

Administration

Jim Campbell

Associate Dean, Department Chairperson

21 N. Park Street, Room 7223

262-2352

265-5627

jcampbell@dcs.wisc.edu

DoIT

Technology Assistance Program

Phyllis Treige

Information Process Consultant

3134 Computer Sciences and Statistics

890-0161

 

phyllis.treige@doit.wisc.edu

Education

Art

Julie Ganser

Student Services Coordinator

6321 Humanities Bldg

262-8831

265-4593

ganser@education.wisc.edu

Education

Center on Education & Work

John Gugerty

Researcher

964 Educational Sciences

263-2724

262-3050

jgugerty@education.wisc.edu

Education

Cooperative Children's Book Center

Kathleen Horning

Director

4290 Helen C. White Hall

263-3721/
263-3720

262-4933

horning@education.wisc.edu

Education

Counseling Psychology

Lee Nelson

Professor

340 Education Bldg

263-3753

265-3347

mlnelson@education.wisc.edu

Education

Curriculum & Instruction

Alice Udvari-Solner

Faculty Associate

244A Teacher Education

263-4645

263-9992

alice@education.wisc.edu

Education

Dance

Claude Heintz

Faculty Associate

429A Lathrop Hall

262-2209

265-3841

cheintz@education.wisc.edu

Education

Education Academic Services

Virginia Waddick

Student Services Coordinator

109 Education Building

262-1177

265-3284

vwaddick@education.wisc.edu

Education

Educational Psychology

David Williamson Shaffer

Professor

316b Educational Sciences

265-4602

262-0843

dws@education.wisc.edu

Education

Educational Portfolio & Career Services

Steve Head

Director

141 Educational Sciences

262-1755

sh@education.wisc.edu

Education

Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis

Julie Mead

Associate Professor

1282G Educational Sciences

263-9994

265-3135

jmead@education.wisc.edu

Education

Education Outreach

Karen Fiske

University Services Assoc

Suite 303 Educational Sciences

262-7419

265-4309

kfiske@education.wisc.edu

Education

Educational Policy Studies

Mary Jo Gessler

Student Status Examiner

302 Rust Hall

262-1760

262-0460

gessler@education.wisc.edu

Education

Instructional Media Development Center

Richard Geier

Senior Broadcast Specialist

113 Teacher Education

263-9510

263-6448

geier@education.wisc.edu

Education

Center for Instructional Materials & Computing (CIMC)

Chris Dowling

Senior Information Processing Consultant

368 Teacher Education

263-4339

262-6050

cdowling@wisc.edu

Education

Kinesiology

Timothy Gattenby

Associate Faculty Associate

1039 Natatorium

262-9562

gattenby@education.wisc.edu

Education

Educational & Psychological TrainingCenter

Lee Nelson

Professor

340 Education Building

263-3753

265-3347

mlnelson@education.wisc.edu

Education

Recreational Sports

John Paine

Associate Director

1025 Gymnasium-Natatorium

262-3743

265-5541

paine@education.wisc.edu

Education

Rehabilitation Psychology & Special Education

David Rosenthal

Associate Professor

432 E. Campus Mall
Room 413

263-5751

262-8108

drosenthal@education.wisc.edu

Education

Tandem Press

Paula Panczenko

Director

201 S. Dickinson St.

263-3437

265-2356

panczenko@education.wisc.edu

Education

Testing & Evaluation

Timothy O’Connor

Senior Administrative Program Specialist

373 Educational Sciences

262-9151

263-4291

tnoconno@facstaff.wisc.edu

Education

Wisconsin Center for Education Research

Jeanne Schneider

Assistant Director

242c Educational Sciences

265-4462

263-6448

jschneider1@wisc.edu

Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

M. Elizabeth (Beth) Meyerand

Professor

1129 Wisconsin Institutes for Medical Research

263-1685

265-9840

memeyerand@wisc.edu

Engineering

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Eric Codner

Undergraduate Lab Director

B103F Engineering Hall

263-3130

262-5434

codner@engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Bin Ran

Associate Professor

1212 Engineering Hall

262-0052

262-5199

bran@engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Paul Milenkovic

Associate Professor

2356 Engineering Hall

262-3892/
265-3822

262-1267

milenkovic@engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Engineering Professional Development

Lynn Gross

Accountant - Journey

725a Extension Building

262-0498

263-3160

gross@epd.engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Industrial & Systems Engineering

Carol Anne Krueger

Dept. Administrator

360 Mechanical Engineering Building

262-9660

262-8454

cakrueger@engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Materials Science & Engineering

Lynn Neis

Program Assistant

276 Materials Science & Engineering Building

262-3732

262-8353

lynn@engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Greg Nellis

Associate Professor

1339 Engineering Research Building

265-6626

262-8464

gfnellis@engr.wisc.edu

Engineering

Engineering Physics

Noah Hershkowitz

Professor

337 Engineering Research Building

263-4970

265-2364

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Financial Aid

Office of Financial Aid

Vera Abing

Senior Advisor

333 East Campus Mall, Room 9701

263-3060

vera.abing@finaid.wisc.edu

General Library System

Memorial Library

Lee Konrad

Associate University Librarian for Technology Strategies and Data Services

372D Memorial Library

263-4564

262-4631

lkonrad@library.wisc.edu

Housing

University Apartments

Linda Abegglen

Manager of Apartment Leasing

University Apartments 611 Eagle Heights

262-4925

265-5302

linda.abegglen@housing.wisc.edu

Housing

University Housing

Sara Arnsdorf

Coordinator of Assignments and Student Services

1 Slichter Hall, 625 Babcock Dr.

262-2788

262-4082

sara.arnsdorf@housing.wisc.edu

Human Ecology

Consumer Science

Human Ecology

Design Studies

Human Ecology

Human Development & Family Studies

Sigan Hartley

Faculty

599 Waisman Center, 1500 Highland Ave

862-8860

hartley@waisman.wisc.edu

Human Ecology

Interdisciplinary Studies

International Studies

International Studies & Programs

Marianne Bird Bear

Assistant Dean

268 Bascom Hall

262-1335

262-6998

mtbirdbear@international.wisc.edu

International Studies

International Academic Programs

Journalism & Mass Communication

Journalism & Mass Communication

Robert Schwoch

Lecturer/Undergraduate Advisor

5060 Vilas Hall

262-3690

schwoch@wisc.edu

L&S

African Languages & LIterature

Dustin Cowell

Professor

1406 Van Hise Hall

262-5886

265-4151

dccowell@wisc.edu

L&S

African Studies Program

Eileen McNamara

Senior Administrative Specialist

205 Ingraham Hall

262-4461

265-5851

emcnamar@wisc.edu

L&S

Afro-American Studies

Craig Werner

Professor

4139 H.C. White Hall

263-2335

 

cwerner@facstaff.wisc.edu

L&S

American Indian Studies

Denise Wiyaka

Associate Director

317 Ingraham

263-5501

262-7137

dmwiyaka@wisc.edu

L&S

Anthropology

 

 

 

 

 

 

L&S

Art History

Narciso Menocal

Professor

203 Elvehjem Museum

263-2373/
263-2340

265-6425

nmenocal@facstaffwisc.edu

L&S

Astronomy

jemarti1@wisc.edu

L&S

Botany

Edgar Spalding

Professor

B135 Birge Hall

265-5294

262-7509

spalding@facstaff.wisc.edu

L&S

Chazen Museum of Art

Brian Thompson

Assistant Director

Elvehjem Building

263-8143

263-8188

bthompson@chazen.wisc.edu

L&S

Chemistry

Jeanne Hamers

Undergraduate Chemistry Coordinator

1328 Chemistry Building

263-4852

 

jhamers@chem.wisc.edu

L&S

Chicana/o & Latina/o Studies

Sylvia Garcia

Program Administrator

312 Ingraham

263-4486

265-8432

chicanostudies@mailplus.wisc.edu

L&S

Classics

Jeff Beneker

Assistant Professor

904 Van Hise Hall

262-3320

262-8570

jbeneker@wisc.edu

L&S

Communication Arts

Jenell Johnson

Professor

6114 Vilas Hall

262-4921/ 262-2543

jmjohnson22@wisc.edu

L&S

Communicative Disorders

Katie Hustad

Assistant Professor

377 Goodnight Hall

262-8079

262-6466

kchustad@wisc.edu

L&S

Comparative Literature

 

 

 

 

L&S

Computer Sciences

 

 

 

 

L&S

Economics

 

 

 

 

 

L&S

English

Jane Zuengler

Professor/Assoc. Dept. Chair

6103 Helen C. White/
7187E Helen C. White Hall

263-3808/
263-3792

263-3709

zuengler@wisc.edu

L&S

French & Italian

Sue Grass

Univ Services Program Assoc.

618 Van Hise Hall

262-5074

265-3892

sgrassri@wisc.edu

L&S

Geography

Jim Burt

Professor

425 Science Hall

263-4460

265-3991

jeburt@wisc.edu

L&S

Gender & Women's Studies

L&S

Geoscience

L&S

German

Venkat Mani

Professor

858 Van Hise Hall

265-0779/ 262-2192

bvmani@wisc.edu

L&S

Hebrew & Semitic Studies

Chris Dargis

Department Admin

1346 Van Hise Hall

262-3204

262-9417

cadargis@wisc.edu

L&S

History

Mary Lybeck

Department Administrator

3211F Humanities

263-1810

263-5302

mlybeck@wisc.edu

L&S

History of Science

Walton Schalick

Assistant Professor

1410 Medical Sciences Center

262-6760

265-0486

schalick@wisc.edu

L&S

Integrated Liberal Studies

Craig Werner

Professor/Dept. Chair

4139 Helen C. White

263-7978

cwerner@wisc.edu

L&S

Center for Jewish Studies

Judith Deutsch Kornblatt

Professor

1432 Van Hise Hall

262-9762/ 262-3498

265-2814

jkornbla@wisc.edu

L&S

Languages & Cultures of Asia

Robert Bickner

Professor

1242 Van Hise Hall

262-3915
262-3012

 

rbickner@wisc.edu

L&S

Learning Support Services

Mary Prochniak

Senior Special Librarian

279 Van Hise Hall

262-7759

262-7579

mary@lss.wisc.edu

L&S

Library & Information Studies

Andrea Poehling

Student Services Coordinator

4244 Helen C. White Hall

263-2909/ 263-2900

263-4849

student-services@slis.wisc.edu

L&S

Limnology

Paul Hanson

Research Scientist

214 Limnology Lab

262-5953

265-2340

pchanson@wisc.edu

L&S

Mathematics

David Camacho

Faculty Associate

321 Van Vleck Hall

263-6817

 

camacho@math.wisc.edu

L&S

Medical Microbiology & Immunology

L&S

Music

James Doing

Professor

5427 Humanities

263-1929/ 263-1900

262-8876

jdoing@wisc.edu

L&S

Philosophy

Ivan Soll

Professor

5115 Helen C. White

263-0252

265-3701

aisoll@facstaff.wisc.edu

L&S

Physics

Aimee Lefkow

Research Program Manager

4281 Chamberlin Hall

263-2267

263-0800

lefkow@hep.wisc.edu

L&S

Political Science

Lance Potter

Academic Dept. Manager

110 North Hall

263-1780

265-2663

lpotter@wisc.edu

L&S

Psychology

Vicky Lenzlinger

Assoc. Adminstrative Prog. Specialist

222 Psychology Building

262-0512/
262-1041

262-4029

vlenzlinger@psych.wisc.edu

L&S

Scandinavian Studies

Julie Allen

Assistant Professor

1302 Van Hise Hall

262-8995/
262-2090

262-9417

jkallen@wisc.edu

L&S

Slavic Languages & Literature

Irina Shevelenko

Professor

1450 Van Hise Hall

262-6759/
262-6764

265-2814

idshevelenko@wisc.edu

L&S

Social Work

William Heiss

Assistant to the Director

328 School of Social Work Bldg

263-7147

 

waheiss@wisc.edu

L&S

Sociology

Joel Rogers

Professor

7114b Social Science Building

262-4266

262-9046

jrogers@ssc.wisc.edu

L&S

Spanish & Portuguese

Diana Frantzen

Associate Professor

1048 Van Hise Hall

263-0604

262-2093

dlfrantzen@wisc.edu

L&S

Statistics

Jun Shao

Dept. Chair, Professor

1235a Medical Sciences Center

262-7938

262-0032

shao@stat.wisc.edu

L&S

Theatre & Drama

Joseph Varga

Professor

6012 Vilas Hall

263-3358/ 263-2329

263-2463

jvarga@wisc.edu

L&S

Urban & Regional Planning

Jason Josvai

Department Administrator

112a Music Hall

262-1005

262-9307

jrjosvai@wisc.edu

L&S

Zoology

LaFollette School of Public Affairs

LaFollette School of Public Affairs

Law School

Administration

Mike Hall

Assistant Dean

Law Building

890-0115

262-5485

mahall2@wisc.edu

Library & Information Studies

Library & Information Studies

Tanya Cobb

Student Services Coordinator

4217 Helen C. White Hall

263-2909

263-4849

tcobb@wisc.edu

School of Medicine and Public Health

Medical Students

Shobhina Chheda

Professor

5136 UW Medical Foundation Centennial Bldg

265-7550

262-2327

sgc@medicine.wisc.edu

School of Medicine and Public Health

Graduate Students (MS and PhD)

Greta M. Petersen

Student Services Program Manager

4166 Health Sciences Learning Center, 750 Highland Dr.

265-9235

 

gpetersen@wisc.edu

School of Medicine and Public Health

Molecular Environmental Toxicology Center

Eileen Stevens

Program Administrator

2233 Rennebohm Hall

263-7380

262-5245

emstevens@wisc.edu

School of Nursing

Nursing

Mary Russell

Student Services Coordinator

Box 2455 Clinical Sciences Center

263-5183

263-5296

mlrussell@wisc.edu

School of Pharmacy

Pharmacy

Melanie A. Schneider

Asst to Dean

1214 Rennebohm Hall

265-0492

262-3943

maschneider@pharmacy.wisc.edu

Recreation

Recreational Sports

John Paine

Associate Director

1025 Natatorium Gymnasium

262-3743

265-5541

paine@education.wisc.edu

Registrar

Office of the Registrar

Veterinary Medicine

Administration: Academic Affairs

Lynn Maki

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Veterinary Medicine Bldg., 2015 Linden Dr.

263-5819

890-1774

lmaki@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Veterinary Medicine

Animal Health & Biomedical Sciences

Judd M. Aiken

Professor

237 Animal Health & Biomed Sciences Bldg

262-7362/ 262-0427

262-7420

jma@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

 
 
UW Home